For those panicking about losing everything…

plumbobcookies:

So the official tumblr export option was showing no sign of progress, and my blog wouldn’t import to wordpress, so I did a bit of research and found my own more complicated faster way of doing things.

I downloaded all of my images with TumblThree, and all of my blog posts as an .xml using this: https://tumblr2wordpress.benapps.net/. TumblThree downloads the images, videos, text posts, and everything else except the image captions, so for that I downloaded the .xml.

This way I have all of my images and posts backed up. I’m currently importing the .xml file into wordpress, and I have no idea if I’ll have to add the images back in manually. I think the .xml file only links to the images on tumblr, so I backed them up using TumblThree just in case.

It’s definitely easier to just export to wordpress, but since that wasn’t working for me I had to find another way. Despite the fact that I don’t think my blog will get taken down, I desperately needed the peace of mind of having everything backed up just in case. I’m putting this method out there for anyone else feeling the same way.

EDIT: Yes the .xml file only links to the images on tumblr, so if my blog gets taken down, the images get taken down too.

@desiree-uk this is one solution and I’ve seen another post floating around. If I find it I’ll reblog that too.

Leave a comment